1950s B-MOVIES

For inspiration I have been looking at 1950’s b – movie posters in the horror genre.
I find the typing in these posters worth a closer look. Both the typography itself and how it is placed and presented on the page. The size of the letters often vary and when I read it it’s almost as I can hear the dramatic voice and soundtrack of the movie trailer. It is interesting to see how different typefaces gives associations to i.e. voices and music.

I think I can relate these movie posters to my work for the fanzine. Both B – movies and fanzines are produced with low (or no) budgets and have a sense of low-fi to it.

..

Leave a Reply

