SAILOR TATTOOS and PIN UPS

Tattoo images from mashkulture.net

As the rock music from the 50s had an massive influence on the Rockabilly culture (who embraces old school sailor tattoos), I have been looking at old sailor tattoos to gain inspiration for my characters. They needed some nice tattoo pieces, and I found proper inspiration in Sailor Jerrys tattoos. I don’t think I have been creative enough when transferring the tattoos to my characters, as they basically just are like every other old school tattoo. But at the same time I didn’t feel that I could change the tattoos a lot since I think they are too significant to be messed up too much.
For the tattoo designs I have focused upon hearts, spiderwebs, lettering and stars.

Since Pin-up girls have decorated quite a few upper sleeves I found it natural to research Pin-ups as well. Both for the tattoos and the poses of the female characters. One of my main resources for this has been the Taschen Pin-up bok: 1000 Pin-Up Girls, as well as models such as Bettie Page, Betty Grable and Marilyn Monroe.

Leave a Reply

